fussbudget
karaoke love
(2004-06-04, 12:23 p.m.)
I just got home about an hour ago from last night's karaoke madness. J.Bro, Dr. Simon LeBon, ODB and Simon's GF were all in attendance. Simon, J.Bro and ODB came over to frontload on screwdrivers before hitting the H*ppy R00ster. I sang "Rainbow in the Dark" much to the horror of most of the bar's clientele. They were much more into Steven Sondheim tunes. Simon and I finally did "The Wild Boys" and J.Bro rocked "Squeezebox" and duetted with Simon on "Punk Rock Girl." The four of us called ourselves The ODB Christmas Singers and performed "Fairy Tale of New York" with Simon helping me on the Kirsty McColl parts.

We were tanked and I was too uncomfortable with the thought of walking home by myself (everyone else in my neighborhood had left early or were heading somewhere else), so I stayed with J.Bro. Since I wasn't at home, I had all kinds of weirdass dreams about sunless tanning lotion, subways and brown dresses with Rowlf from the Muppet Show printed on them. I'm blaming the alcohol.

Needless to say, I'm glad to be home and showered. I'll be back at J.Bro's tonight for his housewarming party. I will not be drinking nearly as much.

I'm really going to miss Simon. You have to love a guy that karaokes to Kraftwerk. Perhaps Mike and I should honeymoon in Germany and visit him at the end of our trip....