fussbudget
sniffles from two different sources
(2004-06-05, 4:39 p.m.)
I woke up this morning with a sore throat again. No, I didn't spend another night at karaoke. I seem to have contracted a cold in the past two days. My throat and ears are in pain, and I'm sniffling and sneezing. Right now I'm at home watching the U.S. Barbecue Championship on the Food Network. It makes me wish I could be eating ribs right now, but I have little appetite for anything except for tea. (Mike brought me some chicken noodle soup from Whole Foods, but it more accurately should have been called "chicken broth with onions and the occasional noodle and chunk of chicken." I ate only about half of it.

Last night J.Bro had a "housewarming" for his sublet. I now realize that my listless ass sitting on the couch was not caused by the previous evening's madness, but from the beginning of this damn cold. I just feel wonky and cranky and want someone to fetch me a bunch of movies.

In other news, my dad's cancer is strictly in his prostate. That's good news. He's opted to have surgery instead of radiation. I'm going to go up to MA when he goes under the knife. We just don't know when that will be yet. I'm worried, even though the doctor says he's in excellent shape. When three of the four most important members of my extended family are sick, I'm really worried (that being my grandmother and her Alzheimers, my dad, and my grandfather with his various skin cancers and stomach issues). Mortality has hit home in the past year, and I'm feeling this crisis of conscience. But that's that. Enough venting about things over which I have no control. I just want my dad walking me down the aisle next year.

God, this BBQ contest is making me mentally, if not physically, hungry.