fussbudget
s-a-t-u-r-d-a-y...NIGHT!
(2003-08-31, 11:19 a.m.)
Apparently our toilet has decided to try to break free of the bathroom. It wouldn't stop running, and Mike noticed that the screws holding it to the floor and to the wall were loose. So I have to wait to wash Saturday night off me while Mike attends to more pressing matters.

We went out to dinner with several of J.Bro's college friends who live in Philly. These folks are Mike's and my friends too, but they were entertaining other college friends visiting from out of town. We ate at the yummy Vietnamese restaurant which always seems to have an hour-long wait. We also drank fruity cocktails. Then we went to JoRo and MC's house for more drinks before heading to Bob and Barbara's. I LOVE Bob and Barbara's, if only for the jazzy sounds of Nate Wiley and the Crowdpleasers. At the bar, MC ran into one of her old college roommates and I ran into one of my new Ph.D. classmates (the one I pegged for a hipster, of course...).

I talked to a guy who roasts his own coffee as a hobby. I am fascinated by this. It reminds me of homebrewing. He also told me about why he didn't end up going to Berkeley for business school. He said that as liberal as he is, there was something about Berkeley's sensibility that bothered him. I said that once anything becomes doctrine, I find it problematic. I love drunken profundity.

This afternoon, one of A.'s friends from Athens is visiting. She just moved to Brooklyn. I'm excited to see a familiar face in a different context.