fussbudget
it's what they say about weddings and funerals
(2004-09-03, 11:46 p.m.)
The next week is going to consist of a lot of waiting. The memorial service is next Friday, and I've offered my place as a crash pad for anyone who needs it. So far, the ex-boyfriend is the only one to take me up on it. This is absolutely fine, as we haven't been an item in more than 8 years, and he's friends with both me and Mikey. In fact, I almost don't even consider him my ex anymore. He's just a friend. It's been that long. But I digress.

This seems to have brought a group of friends who haven't necessarily seen each other that much back together. It sucks that it's under such hideous circumstances, but it's comforting in an old-home kind of way.

I sent M. a card today. L. sent us an e-mail saying that M. was "comically enraged with each flower delivery," and that we should donate to the hospice foundation or the cancer care center instead. I still have yet to talk to M., because I know she's being bombarded with love and support and sympathy and the last thing she needs is one more phone call. My job will be to make sure she gets out and about in the coming months. The hardest part is yet to come.

In other, fluffier, happier news, I got to see Cassie for the first time in ages tonight. A group of us ate at L0lita and then hit McGlinchey's for more drinks. I already have a headache. I also partook in some "retail therapy" (Mikey, don't kill me) and bought stuff at H&M for the first time in years. I got a corduroy blazer, red wool cardigan, skirt, t-shirt, and 6 pairs of earrings for $100. You can't go wrong with that.

Tomorrow, I will help J.Mo move and finish a bunch of reading that needs to be done. I have to keep chugging along. This is no time to fall behind.

I have a headache. I think it's time for bed...