fussbudget
ramblings about canadian rock and academia
(2004-05-10, 2:24 p.m.)
I saw Sl0an last night and the bassist shook my hand. This made me feel incredibly dorky and happy, as I have loved this band for 11 years now. I stammered something about having seen them open for the Lemonheads in '93 and he told me that he was convinced that we had met before. I just replied, "I get that a lot. I accept that I'm an indie rock cliche."

The rest of this weekend was good/stressful. I have yet to turn in my final paper for theory because not one, not two, but three of my friends and loved ones had personal crises. All of them are out of town and I felt futile and helpless. Luckily, my advisor is kind enough to take pity on me. We met today and she said, "Fussbudget, I know you're a hard worker and you're not just feeding me a line. If you can't finish and we need to do an incomplete, we can do that." It meant so much that she knew I wasn't faking. But enough of the emo rant.

Saturday I went to Brooklyn and got to hang out with Aruam!!!! and sju and robotpolisher and africajosh. I drank until my carriage whisked me off to Philly at midnight (that being the fauxjetta, driven by Mikey). The next day we had brunch and walked around town. I think we've picked out our plates for our wedding registry. This is very exciting.

I'm going to stop blabbering on like an idiot now. I need to finish grading for tomorrow. It's almost over. It's almost over. If I keep tellling myself that, I will make it through.