fussbudget
you have to have the bitter if you want to taste the sweet
(2004-05-03, 10:29 a.m.)
It's been a bizarre weekend -- lots of ups and downs.

On the "up" side, we had our departmental semester party on Friday night. It was fun to kick back and drink cheap wine with my professors. I love my advisor so much. As I say every time I mention her, she is what I aspire to be 9 years from now. She's just so freakin' cool. She actually sent me an e-mail Friday afternoon telling me to bring music to the party, since if we didn't do it, it would be lame. (She brought the Chemical Brothers). Her husband's cool, she's cool, and we just might go to drag night at Bob and Barbara's on Thursday.

I managed to maintain my cool at the party, but after we left and headed to Low-Cost Bar, I drank two beers and transformed in Rare Form Fussbudget (henceforth referred to as RFF). I was loud, obnoxious, and hitting everyone on the speed dial. Who knows what I said, but my call logs indicate that pretty much no one was safe from my messages of love. J.Bro returned my call at 3 am, but I was already passed out.

As RFF, I felt the need to go home because I was way too drunk. J.Mo tried to get me to take a cab, but I, in my head, was calmly explaining to him that my apartment was not too far from the bar and that I could walk. Of course, through the beer and wine, it came out as "I DON'T NEED TO TAKE A FUCKING CAB!!!" I staggered home and went to sleep.

Saturday was hangover day. I stayed home and didnt' answer the phone.

On the downside, I talked to my parents on Sunday and my dad has all-but-been-diagnosed with prostate cancer. He has a few more tests to take, but they are of the "how serious is this?" variety and not "maybe it's benign." I'm trying to remain positive. I hope it's been caught early enough, but I'm still really upset. I just feel so helpless. I can sort of understand what my parents were feeling 9 years ago when I was diagnosed. I don't like coming to terms with the mortality of my parents and my grandparents. It's been too much at once. I realize I've been incredibly fortunate and that others have it way worse. It's just that I'm such a daddy's girl. But I'll deal.

To end on an "up" note, I've started a photo blog. I've linked to it on my other site, which if you know me, you know where that is. If you want to see it and don't know about my other "public" blog (you know, the one where I actually name names), shoot me a quick e-mail and I'll hook you up. That is, if you are on my buddy list.