fussbudget
late recap
(2003-09-17, 5:22 p.m.)
I haven't discussed last weekend yet because I've been so damn tired. I had a great time at the shower. SB is one of my oldest friends (15 years!), and it was so funny to watch her try to negotiate the dumb rituals that make up a bridal shower. I think it's hilarious and amazing that her first bridal shower was her own. All I have to say is that the girl has enough glassware to last her three marriages.

Seeing my grandmother was just way too depressing. I really don't want to talk about it. Nursing homes are horrible, horrible places, but they do have some gallows humor. My mom told me some funny stories about some of the wacko old folks in the home. I guess laughing helps everyone, but it's kind of hard to do when your grandmother is screaming about how she wants to die right now. OK, I've said too much. Next subject.

I hung out with the Best Friend on Saturday night. Her new boyfriend (well, relatively new) "dated" me back in 7th grade. This is a big joke. We hung out with him and some other dude I went to high school with who was totally hitting on me. I joked to Mike that if I ever need to move back home, I've got some options. I think the dude was just really shocked that I actually spoke, since I rarely did in high school unless you were part of my circle of friends. This was not snobbery, just complete and utter terror of embarrassing myself (which now would be diagnosed as "social anxiety disorder" and would mean that my 16-year-old ass would be on the Pax1l). Now I don't give a shit, and I'm charming and a balding computer consultant is totally fascinated by every word I say. Whatever.

I'm excited for wedding #2 this weekend. CC is a fun gal, and it will be fun to kick it with the Philly Pholks, albeit in Illinois.