fussbudget
bad rock band!
(2004-04-13, 11:37 a.m.)
This was crazy weekend number 2 for the month of April. Instead of spending it in NYC, I was at the MA homestead for Easter and the Best Friend's 30th birthday. The birthday party was so crazy that Mike and I ended up staying over in Portsmouth, NH on Saturday night. This was actually a good thing, since it's probably (definitely) where we're going to have the wedding. We drank with the best friend, her boyfriend, the Evil Bridesmaid from Hell and her husband. EBFH and hubby bagged out pretty early, so we then hightailed it to the hotel where the wedding will probably take place.

We did shots, conversed with Andy, our ever-so-helpful bartender, and the Best Friend's bf stole an easter bunny from the lobby. Yes, we are all mature. When we got back to the hotel, her bf had dropped trou and tripped in the hallway. She yelled at him saying, "It's like we're the Bad Rock Band in the hotel." Somehow, this devolved into me and the best friend jumping up and down on her bed, beers in hand, screaming "BAD ROCK BAND! BAD ROCK BAND!" There is a picture to prove this. Mike says it looks like a riot grrrl album cover.

The next morning, we drove back to MA for easter with the entire family. Ever since my grandmother has become completely senile, the rest of my family has been getting along like gangbusters. I actually had FUN with my aunt, uncle and two cousins. I can't wait for the wedding, because I think it will be a good time for all involved.

Speaking of wedding crap, I got a phone call from a talented friend of mine who said he was "honored" to be asked to participate in the wedding. I didn't think he'd be willing to fly out for it, I just wanted him to record something. He was almost insulted that I didn't ask him to perform live. I was just deferring to his schedule, but he said he'd do it. I'm very, very excited.