fussbudget
hi, hypocrite!
(2002-12-06, 1:42 p.m.)
I've been a musical hypocrite the past few weeks. Anyone who knows me and discusses the indie rock with me knows that I hate Bright Eyes with a passion. I have no patience for Conor's vibrato-laden voice. So, it makes no sense whatsoever that I was browsing through Borders a few weeks ago and saw a copy of Lifted... and purchased it. With the exception of the first song, I like it. What is happening to me?

I also bought Ryan Adams' Demolition after disowning him for that piece of crap he called Gold. It's no Heartbreaker, but it has its moments.

Meanwhile, getting back to her kiddie debate, I thought of another sinister feeling I have about having children. This is the horrible, horrible social darwinist that lurks in the deepest depths of my consciousness. Sometimes I think it's up to people like us who are smart enough to know that you should only have kids for the right reasons (i.e. not as an accessory or because it's what you're "supposed" to do), we who are the least likely to have children, should have kids because they will be helping make the world a better place. God, it's so evil. But sometimes I think about it. I'm willing to be honest. Yup, with me, smug superiority wins every time...