fussbudget
the big questions
(2002-12-05, 5:12 p.m.)
So, a couple of days ago this fine lady asked two sure-to-cause-debate questions: 1. Do you plan to get married? and 2. Do you plan to have children?

Over the years, my answers have definitely changed. In fact, I had a discussion about marriage with one of my dear friends from high school just this past weekend. See, she has been dating her boyfriend (a word that sounds so wrong in this context) for as long as Herr Angsthase and I have been together, which is nearly seven years. Miss S. and Mr. M. have purchased a home together and have no plans on tying the knot anytime soon. Her argument is that they've been together longer than some people they know who have gotten married and since have become divorced and know that they're committed to each other, so there's no point in making it legal. This used to be how I felt, but now...

...I want to get married. Sure, some of it is for completely selfish, frivolous reasons (hello, housewares!), but I also want the legal protection that (unfairly, yes) comes with saying "I do!" Heaven forbid anything were to happen to either one of us, but I would like it if I or he could be there in intensive care, make the important decisions. And because I know I want to spend the rest of my life with this great guy, I want all my friends and family to know it too and to celebrate with one big-ass party. Yes, this could be done anyway, but I've realized as I get older that I'm so much more conventional than I imagine myself to be. I want the pomp and ceremony. But there ain't gonna be no god anywhere to be found in those vows.

On the little critters side of things, I'm still on the fence. Coming back from the high school reunion, I realized how many people just have kids because they think that's what they're supposed to do. They become little egotistic accessories. If I were to have kids, I think I would adopt because I'm way too much of a wuss to give birth. I have enough trouble dealing with my cramps.

Sorry if these answers sound so flip, but they're true. I'm willing to admit that I'm too selfish right now to be a mom. But I'm ready to be a wife. But there won't be any of that "obey" shit in my vows either.